Jeff Gordon, Howard Hughes among selections for Motorsports Hall of Fame


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Four-time NASCAR champion Jeff Gordon and record-setting pilot and eccentric billionaire Howard Hughes are among seven people selected for the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

The 2018 class was announced Friday at Daytona International Speedway.

The other inductees are drag-racing-car builder John Buttera, Indianapolis Motor Speedway founder Carl G. Fisher, motorcycle great Fred Merkel, three-time Indianapolis 500 champion owner U.E. Pat Patrick and sports-car legend Bob Tullius.

They will be inducted March 13 in Daytona Beach.

Hall of Fame President Ron Watson calls the joint selection of Hughes and Gordon “probably the best example we’ve ever had to illustrate the breadth of our inductee roll.”

The Hall changed the date of its induction to better coincide with all the motorsports races and activities in Florida in March.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Valderrama Masters – Sergio Garcia four clear after second-round 64
Joey Logano wins NASCAR Cup pole Kansas Speedway playoff race
Russia internationals Pavel Mamaev Alexander Kokorin charged with hooliganism, battery
Manchester City expect Liverpool push but London clubs will also have their say
Springboks’ progress under Rassie Erasmus hailed Dick Muir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *