Tour de France 2018: Julian Alaphilippe wins stage 10, Greg van Avermaet extends lead


Julian Alaphilippe put in a fine solo attack to win his first Tour de France stage

Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe claimed an impressive solo victory on stage 10 of the Tour de France as Greg van Avermaet extended his overall lead.

Alaphilippe went clear with just under 30km to go and held his advantage over the final climb to take his first Tour stage win in Le Grand-Bornand.

BMC’s Van Avermaet got into the early breakaway and held on to finish fourth, behind Ion Izagirre and Rein Taaramae.

The Belgian now leads Britain’s Geraint Thomas by two minutes and 22 seconds.

Team Sky and the other general classification teams know Van Avermaet, who is not a pure climber, should still lose the race lead over the next two days in the Alps but this was a superb ride to keep his yellow jersey into an eighth day.

Four-time winner Chris Froome is up to sixth overall, three minutes and 21 seconds back on Van Avermaet, while fellow Briton Adam Yates is seventh, on the same time.

More to follow.

Stage 10 result

1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Quick-Step Floors) 4hrs 25mins 27secs

2. Ion Izagirre (Spa/Bahrain-Merida) +1min 34secs

3. Rein Taaramae (Est/Direct Energie) +1min 40secs

4. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing) +1min 44secs

5. Serge Pauwels (Bel/Team Dimension Data) same time

6. Lilian Calmejane (Fra/Direct Energie) +2mins 24secs

7. Dan Martin (Ire/UAE Team Emirates) +3mins 23secs

8. Primoz Roglic (Slo/LottoNL-Jumbo) same time

9. David Gaudu (Fra/Groupama-FDJ)

10. Geraint Thomas (GB/Team Sky)

General classification after stage 10

1. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/BMC Racing) 40hrs 34mins 28secs

2. Geraint Thomas (GB/Team Sky) +2mins 22secs

3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +3mins 10secs

4. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana) +3mins 12secs

5. Bob Jungels (Lux/Quick-Step Floors) +3mins 20secs

6. Chris Froome (GB/Team Sky) +3mins 21secs

7. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) same time

8. Mikel Landa (Spa/Movistar)

9. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +3mins 27secs

10. Primoz Roglic (Slo/LottoNL-Jumbo) +3mins 36secs

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

NASCAR Xfinity Series 2018 – John Hunter Nemechek could be top candidate for open ride at GMS Racing
Cleveland Browns CB E.J. Gaines in concussion protocol, out Sunday
Wallabies coach Michael Cheika promises Rugby World Cup spectacle
LAFC vs. Vancouver Whitecaps – Football Match Report – October 21, 2018
NASCAR Cup series at Kansas starting lineup breakdown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *